Reigate Charity 7s 2014

Tonbridge School take home the trophy

After several months of rain and miserable weather it was a welcome change and relief to be able to enjoy a festival of sevens rugby, held at the Reigate Grammar School’s Hartswood Sports Ground on Sunday 2nd March.

The Reigate Charity 7s, now a well-established and regarded as one of the top school tournaments in the country, welcomed 32 boys and 10 girls U18 sevens teams on the day. In the Cup, Tonbridge School faced Epsom College in an epic final holding on in the final seconds to take a narrow victory 24-19. This was a thrilling match and refereed by Chris White RFU a veteran of over 50 iRB Tests. Meanwhile, in the Plate Competition, Hampton School were more convincing winners over Portsmouth GS 26-5.

In the Girls’ competition there was highly competitive encounter between Worthing College and Filton College. Having a particularly strong start Worthing finished impressive winners 26-5. In the Girls’ Plate competition there was delight for the home crowd as a determined Reigate Grammar School snatched victory 5-0 in a very tense final against a determined Epsom College team.

The Kukri Players of the Tournament were awarded to: Will Weston (Tonbridge School) and Caroline Hodgson (Worthing College).

Presentations were made by Wasps and England star Joe Launchbury who played in this tournament several years earlier. An established charity event, funds were raised for the Aplastic Anaemia Trust and the RGS Foundation’s Changing Lives campaign.

As Joe remarked; “This is a wonderful event. It is wonderful to see so many young players working so hard for their teams but also having fun. It has been a great day and very enjoyable.”

The Reigate Charity 7s 2015 will be on Sunday 01 March.

Summary of Results:

Boys                                                                  Girls

Cup Winners – Tonbridge School                   Cup Winners – Worthing College

Plate Winners – Hampton School                   Plate Winners – Reigate Grammar School

Shield Winners – St. Joseph’s College

Bowl Winners – Judd School